Interview Central: seapuppy

Welcome to my new series of interviews, the first is from deviantART‘s very own seapuppy.

Opening words
Hello Land of Imaginary People!

All jokes aside, salutations from (one of) your first interviewee(s). As a fair warning, I didn’t get much sleep last night so my humor might seem a bit dry, but I’m excited to be here and let you pick my brain for a little while.

Tell us a little about your artistic background?

It’s really hard to go into any specifics about any of it, in part because I’m one of those guys that can’t stick to one thing. I’ve always loved art stuff period. Back in high school, I took all the art classes, including “Ceramics I” twice for the ❤

Where do you find inspiration?

The funny thing about inspiration is that it can come from anything, anywhere, at any time. It’s really interesting since I’m a stay-at-home dad that doesn’t get out much.

Any favourite artists?

Salvador Dali has always been the list for me since I first learned of his works. I have even seen his short film based on a dream he had, but I wouldn’t recommend it for younguns or the squeemish. On dA [deviantART], though I just can’t choose. Having access to so many amazing creations and deviants makes it too hard to do.

What is the artistic achievement of yours that you are most proud of?

I’ve always had good praise from English teachers about my writings. I’m nothing fancy in my opinion, but I feel literature might be my strongest artistic ability.

What is your favourite fandom?

I’m usually left to be a lone wolf when geeking out IRL since my gf doesn’t share a lot of the same interests, but I guess Doctor Who (the new series)? I’m actually not sure exactly what Fandom exactly entails, to be honest, but shhhh

What motivates you to continue creating?

Boredom? A need for a creative outlet? CONSTRUCTIVE feedback? Really, this probably has as many valid answers as what inspires me.

What books could you just not put down?

I’m definitely a bookworm. Back in high school, I was a huge Stephen King fan. I don’t think I’ve read even half of his works. More recently, I’ve been jumping around genres, though. A lot of Sci-fi/fantasy mostly. Cusp, The Coldfire Trilogy (C. S. Friedman is an amazing author), The Host, Skipping Parts, and The Hunger Games Trilogy to name a few good suggestions. I’ve also started reading Relativity episodes recently and am hooked for more.

One fact about yourelf that only a few people know about?

This is always a bit of a toughy for me. I guess even though I’m usually a pretty chill person, I used to have a really bad temper when younger.

What tips can you offer to better oneself in their artwork?

Research, study, practice, research, study, practice, RESEARCH! STUDY! PRACTICE! I may be a bit hypocritical for saying so, but I know you’ll never get better if you never strive to improve.

Any parting words/words of encouragement to the audience?

If you’ve made it this far through the interview, I must not have been boring enough. Keep it fancy, and spread the love! ❤

Images via seapuppy

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Yay for Seapuppy! 😀
    I really like this interview, it’s very fun! And I approve of the Doctor Who fan-ness. I can’t wait to read more!!

  2. Great interview! Seapuppy seems like a really lovely deviant. He has given some great artistic advice, there (and I like that he is a fellow King fan!) Keep it up with the wonderful interviews.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

