Being Let Down (AGAIN)

Benutzer:dapete and Benutzer:Ezrimerchant shak...
Image via Wikipedia

“Thanks for your interest, we’ll get back to you.”

I’ve recently been through an interview stage in order to gain the role of IT Prefect at my current school (yes, geeky, I know. But I got the job!). First of all I had to send in an application. That was in January. Then the teacher emailed me, “Thanks for the interest, we’ll get back to you within the week.”. Three weeks later. “You are now a candidate, we have a interview here at this time blah blah blah….” (I figured you get the gist). Two days later (after the interview). “Thanks for your interest, we’ll get back to you this evening.” A day later. “You got the job I’ll get back to you next week about another meeting.” Now, I probably won’t be wrong* when I say that it will be at least another fort-night until they get back to me.

Now, I appreciate the hard work and all the effort put into these things, I also appreciate that there were more than a few applications sent in but please, stop making promises you can’t stick too! Now this interview isn’t my only example (nor the best I could probably conjure) but it’s just one of the many times a broken promise (no matter how big) has been made to me. Heck, I don’t really care how long they take**. I care about the fact that you keep bringing my hopes up and letting me down. I’d be fine if they’d said something a long the lines of “Thanks for your interest, we’ll get back to you in three weeks.” because at least they’d have been telling the truth and sticking to their promise.

When was the last time you were let down? What were your thoughts on this?

*Lies. I probably will be wrong.
**To a certain extent, any way.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

