Confrontation and Getting Over Writers Block

overcoming writer's block - crumpled paper on ...
overcoming writer's block - crumpled paper on wooden floor - crushed paper (Photo credit: photosteve101)

At times in your life you have to learn to confront something. Whether it be a fear or something that’s you’ve been waiting to approach.

Today I confronted something that was a long time in coming. I won’t go into details but I will say that this was quite an emotional experience for me as it was my family. I confronted someone who had wronged me numerous of times and this person is some one that I used to share a very special bond with.

Confrontation can hurt, physically but more so emotionally.

You may be thinking to yourself that you have never faced the issue that is confrontation and that might be the case, however I ask you to think back to any time you could have possibly have confronted something or someone. It might be the time that you picked up the tiny spider that you were so scared of, or the time that you confronted your student as they hadn’t handed in their homework on time. Confrontation comes in many shapes and sizes.

I’ve also confronted some thing else today. For years on end I have believed in the thing you are probably very familiar with. It’s called writer’s block. Today I finally confronted myself and proved that writer’s block doesn’t exist, or, if it does, it is one of the easiest things to pass. It really is simply the art of being in the write place at the write time. When you get that idea, don’t let it escape and don’t leave it to long to write about. If you do you will escape the essence of your idea. As I write this, I have nothing planned. My fingers are simply tapping and I am on fire (no, not literally). I am seeing where my initial idea will take me and I can say that right now, this is the easiest it has ever been for me to write. To let my fingers take me where they want me to go and not to listen to my head but my heart.

Think about these two topics. Confrontation and writers block may seem like very different things but in fact they both have one common factor. They are easy to pass though on some level, they are some thing that has always and will always block the finishing line. The road to success is always under construction. You can change that. You can confront those fears. Whether it be confronting a family conflict or getting over writers block. Nothing’s impossible if you believe.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

