How Important Is Family to You?

“You don’t choose your family. They are God‘s gift to you, as you are to them.”
Desmond Tutu

Today my family will be celebrating my sister’s tenth birthday and it’s amazing how I’ve watched her grow. It seems like yesterday that she was the little girl pulling my hair from her baby cot*.

Reflecting on the last ten years my sister has been in my life has been amazing. She is a truly special person. It got me thinking about just how important family really is and I’m blessed to have a supportive family that are here to love and care for me.

The truth is, your friends may come and go but family will always be there for you, through the thick and thin they’ll stand by your side no matter what. Our family are the people we can always turn to and they will always be there to lend a shoulder to cry on.

I’m not going to lie, every family has it’s ups and downs. I have replaced my biological father for a much better step-father who I consider my true father. My family have been so supportive through all these ups and downs and it’s brought us closer together than I ever could have imagined.

“Anyone can be a Father, but it takes someone special to be a Daddy.”

Honestly, I wouldn’t trade my family for anything and I wouldn’t expect any one else to either. Family is too important to sacrifice, hold onto it no matter what.

*So what if the only thing that’s changed is she doesn’t do it in a baby cot. 😆

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You, as one of my followers, are cordially invited to my darker and a little more personal blog: http://nothobblingnow.wordpress.com/

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

