Think Outside the Box

Think outside the box... it's where the best i...
Think outside the box… it’s where the best ideas live. (Photo credit: ArtJonak)

Disclaimer: What you are about to read is raw meaning it has had no editing and no planning. I have no idea what I am about to write as I start writing. All I know is that this will be a follow on post from my previous post ‘How To Become Someone Successful’. Wish me luck. Oh and, I hope it makes sense – if it does, that’s a bonus. You know, I might make this a regular thing…

Think outside the box

This box that everyone speaks of, what is it? Can I see this box? No, I didn’t think so. Surely if I can’t see the box then the box doesn’t exist, correct? Or was the person who made up that famous quote in fact thinking outside the box. I wasn’t aware that I was in a box. If I’m in a box, how do I escape the box? Where is this box? Are there other boxes? Are we all referring to the same box? Is there décor within this box, or is it a plain cardboard box? Wait, why am I in a cardboard box again?

Today I was in a lesson and as some one that uses this quote quite often, I advised a fellow class mate* to think outside the box. Instead of the usual response I’m used too, this particular class mate challenged my way of thinking. They asked me about this box. What does it look like? How big is it? Where is this box? Can I see the box? The truth was, I didn’t know any thing about this so called ‘box’. Of course, I knew that it was a metaphorical term, but all the same, my class mate was correct and I wasn’t**. My class mate had thought outside the box*** and for the first time I thought about this metaphorical box in a literal form.

Think outside the box  is a term often used to tell some one to do something different in order to stand out in the crowd. I decided that I’d now think of this box as the Earth in which we are all trapped within. In order to be noticed, you have to do something outrageous that hasn’t been done before. You have to climb out of that box. You have to do something extravagant to become noticed. You have to make a change. You have to take action on your beliefs. You have to venture into space.

I feel the same applies in any thing we do. Writing a blog post: do something different with blogging, take it to new extremes. Drawing a picture: what wacky, creative idea can you come up with? Thinking outside the box gain let your popularity climb mountains. Think of Neil Armstronghe literally ventured into space or outside the box and now he’s one of the most famous men in history. You can’t be creative inside a box because, let us face it, there’s no room.

To conclude, don’t follow the herd, don’t stick within your comfort zones and don’t think inside the box. Become successful.

* I’m not really sure if you can call him a class mate.
** If you ever hear me say that again, you have permission to tell me off.
*** Hey, there’s a first time for everything.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

