Top 5 Children’s Books

For hundreds of years, young minds have been enlightened by some of the greatest children’s literature in history. In children’s books, anything is possible. There are no boundaries that exist in the real world. Here are a few children’s books that I believe are the very best:

Peter Pan
Peter Pan, the boy that wouldn’t grow up, has left a sparkle in children’s eyes for decades. J.M. Barrie‘s novel is a classic tale that shall never grow old, just like the main character himself. It follows the adventures of a mischievous, young boy named Peter and the Darling children who encounter pirates, fairies (in particular, Tinkerbell) and mermaids. Barrie’s novel has been produced into countless of films, both animated and live-action, as well as plays. It truly is a classic children’s tale.

“All children, except one, grow up.”

Quote from ‘Peter Pan’ by J.M Barrie

The Cat In The Hat
Suggested by Mirz
Dr Seuss was reknowned for his humorous story books which children instantly fell in love with. The Cat in the Hat may just of been one of his most famous stories. The Cat in the Hat has been remade into television series and movies for all children to love. The Cat in the Hat, and it’s writer, will forever be a classic that children love.

“Look at me! Look at me! Look at me NOW! It is fun to have fun. But you have to know how.”

Quote from ‘The Cat in the Hat’ by Dr Seuss

Cover of "We're Going on a Bear Hunt"
Cover of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt

We’re Going On A Bear Hunt
This fun book by poet Michael Rosen has all the children reciting the catchy rhymes embedded within ‘We’re Going on A Bear Hunt’. It tells the tale of a family who are going on a bear hunt, journeying through thick, oozy mud and long, wavy grass. A favourite for any child.

“We’re going on a bear hunt. We’re going to catch a big one. What a beautiful day!”

Quote from ‘We’re Going on A Bear Hunt’ by Michael Rosen

Where the Wild Things Are
Suggested by SparklyDest
This book, recently made into a film, was an initial failure which went on the sell millions of copies world wide. The book focuses on a young boy called Max who, when sent to bed without dinner, imagines a sea in his bedroom on which he sets sail to a land of wild things where he becomes king.

“I have a sadness shield that keeps out all the sadness, and it’s big enough for all of us.”

Quote from ‘Where the Wild Things Are’ by Maurice Sendak

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory
Suggested by Ravenswd
Roald Dahl is famous for having created many children’s books which are guilty of enchanting children’s imaginations. ‘Charlie and The Chocolate Factory’ is just one of Dahl’s amazing, classic creations. The story is of a poor but polite boy named Charlie Bucket and five other spoilt children who each find a golden ticket which sends them straight to the doorstep of Mr Willy Wonka.

β€œSo much time, and so little to do! Strike that, reverse it.”

Quote from ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory‘ by Roald Dahl

Have you read these books? What was/is your favourite childhood book? There are many amazing classics not listed here, what do you think should be listed here? I ask you to comment and let me know.

31 Comments

Add yours →

  1. my favourite was always the lion the witch and the wardrobe. the thing about great kids books is they are truly timeless I read my favourites to my children and one day will read them again to granchildren safe in the knowledge they will love them just as much

    • I completely agree. πŸ™‚ Children’s books truly are classic/timeless. I love the Lion, the With and the Wardrobe. In fact, I love all of the Narnia books by CS Lewis. My favourite has to be the Magicians Nephew though. Have you read that one?

      • ohh yes we have the complete set and have read them all but it was always the idea of the world in the back of the wardrobe i loved most I even used to dress up in my mums big faux fur coat and pretend I was there

        • πŸ˜† I loved the wardrobe idea too, to this day I always check the back of wardrobes I’ve never entered before, you know…just in case. πŸ˜‰

          Thank you for commenting, by the way. And liking so many of my posts. πŸ™‚ How are you?

          • Am good had a day off writing today as I finished the first draft of my WIP last night editing starts tomorrow πŸ™‚ today catching up on some reading and tv

          • Sounds great. I need to get writing, I’ve had a long enough break! πŸ˜† I’m only on chapter 13 of my novel which I started last October! πŸ˜† Though I have edited the Prologue and Chapter 1.

            Catching up on TV. πŸ˜† I need to do that. πŸ˜‰
            And reading. Though I have a holiday coming up soon and hope to get it all done there.

          • My novel has taken forever I think it was only deciding I wanted to submit it for a publishers award that spurred me into getting it done I have one month left to edit it so am still pushing it lol I don’t believe for one minute I will get anywhere in the award but at least I will get professional feedback before I begin the rounds of submission and rejection πŸ˜‰

          • Yeah, I know what you mean. After you have that professional feedback, you might want to consider uploading it onto deviantART to get some further feedback.

          • will see what the feedback is I might throw it onto a bonfire if it is terrible lol only kidding I have had some fb friends reading along as I have written it and they have all loved it and I have had a few fellow bloggers offer to beta read it if needed. it is a real mixture of feelings at the minute I am sad in a way the story has finished although it is book one of a trilogy so it isnt really over but also am scared and excited hitting that send button to submit it will be nerve wracking but I can’t wait πŸ™‚

          • I would be very excited if I had finished my novel. I understand what you’re saying about being nervous though but don’t be – I’m sure it’ll be a hit. πŸ™‚ Best of luck!

            Also, if you don’t fancy uploading you’d novel onto deviantART, you might want to consider uploading any stand alone pieces or poetry you may have?

          • i will have a look into it once I get the edit done I dont have much other than stuff I post to the blog but maybe a couple of the poems I have posted there it might be good to get extra feedback on. It is strange I never really believed in my poetry until I started blogging but they always seem to bring extra hits and followers so I guess i am slightly better than i thought lol

          • I understand exactly what you mean. In my opinion, I’m rubbish at poetry though on deviantART my poetry is more popular than my prose. I’m yet to work out whether or not that is because it is far shorter and therefore easier and quicker to read.

          • I have been experimenting with flash fiction on my blog that has been fun as it is helping discpline my writing while trying out new genres and styles. I just randomly pick a photo from my computer and see what springs to mind I just did my first every sci fi piece which went down really well

          • That sounds like a great idea! I’ll have a read of them in a minute I think.

            What’s your favourite genre to write in? How about to read?

          • My novel in medieval fantasy so i guess at the minute that is my favourite to write as for reading I read anything and everything at the minute I have a terry pratchett, a fantasy by another blogger and a vampire/supernatural book by another blogger on the go. It is very much a case of reading as the mood takes me I had to set myself a reading challenge to start making a dent in my TBR pile lol

          • I like to read medieval/fantasy books but I’ve never really warmed to writing it. I’m more of a mystery suspense writer myself.

            Like you, I pretty much read any genre. Mystery and suspense is my favourite though which is why I think that is my favourite writing genre.

          • twice i started writing crime thrillers but never got further than a chapter or two and even though I enjoy reading them I think it was a case of it just not being suited to my style. I would love to write a really good old fashioned ghost story at some point I have a couple of short ghost stories I have written so possibly one of those may inspire me. I shall remember you have a WIP next time I get the lucky7MEME lol

          • I think that my current WIP is the first novel that I got past chapter four writing. That’s why I am so convinced that this is ‘my genre’.

            My goodness, I just took a look at your blog and noticed the astonishing amount of followers and likes you had. Have you got any tips on how to expand your audience? If you do and they are secret, don’t worry, you don’t have to tell me. πŸ˜‰

          • I try to just post once a day, I always check out the bloggers who visit me and follow quite a lot I always try to commenet on others blogs when I have time and have something worth saying and I try to mis up my posts so i post poems, book reviews flash fictions and then just general day to day posts, photos always go down well. one of the most important things I have learnt is add lots of tags so new people are more likely to find you in search engines

          • Thank you, those sound like some pretty great tips. I’ll be sure to put them into action. πŸ™‚ Thank you again.

            Also, have you considered claiming the Diverse Blogger Award yet? πŸ™‚

          • I havent got that in my collection yet lol the other thing I would say is that I have noticed people like to know about the blogger as a person aswell as their views and work I guess thats why so many include tell us 7 things about you lol I know not everyone is happy putting personal details out there but maybe a few posts about you as a person even if you keep exact names and locations secret might help people connect more. I only started blogging at the start of may so am no expert I did have some good advice though when i started about attracting as many different people as possible then some will stay.

          • I completely agree. People want to relate to you.

            I don’t publish much of my writing on my blog but I found this wonderful task I’m considering doing. It’s basically I’ve where you put your iPod/MP3 player on shuffle and write a 500 word piece of Flash fiction about the title of the song it lands on.
            Do you think I should do it and have you done it yet?

          • I haven’t done that one but it sounds pretty similar to me and my random photos. I think you should definately do it maybe post one a week to the blog I have a weekly round up on my blog where I set 5 targets for the week ahead then the next week I fess up about what I have or haven’t done and set the next weeks targets I always do that on a saturday it is also the day I update my WIP total lol some people like to assign days for each different type of post monday poem tuesday flash etc but that doesn’t work so well for me. I guess you work that out as you go along but i would definatle love to read some of your flash pieces and your poetry

          • Thank you, I think I shall.

            I saw your goals thing, thats a pretty neat idea. I’d have to downscale that though because I’m still at school and almost always have some sort of revision or homework to do. Though I could always write loads on one day and schedule them through out the week if I got super busy.

          • okay its midnight here now so better get to bed been great charring with you and look forward to reading more

          • Yeah, it’s the same here. We are both in the UK, I believe.

            I am getting to bed now too, thanks for chatting and I cannot wait to read more from you either. πŸ™‚

          • sweet dreams after all that is where so many ideas can be born, always keep a note book and pen next to your bed so if you have a great idea in your dreams you can write it down before you wake up properly and forget

          • That’s a good idea, thanks.

            Sweet dreams.

          • I get a lot of feedback on my writing from deviantART. It’s really good.

            Let me know if you do decide to get it, of you haven’t already because I can help you get set up over there.

          • will do. i have set myself a deadline that if I get to 100 rejections I will self publish but I would love to get traditionally published I love books so much that to be able to walk into a book shop and see mine on the shelf would be so amazing even if it didnt make money

          • Oh my, that would be amazing! I can only imagine.
            Good luck with that, in sure that you can do it. I mean, JK Rowling was rejected many times before she got published and look where she is now and how well her creation has done. I’m sure the publishers that rejected her were completely gutted! πŸ˜†

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

