Sweet Memories

He said “I’ve been to the year 3000 
Not much has changed but they live underwater (not much has changed but they live underwater) 
And your great-great-great-granddaughter 
Is pretty fine, is pretty fine”

I took a trip to the year 3000 
This song had gone multi-platinum 
Everybody bought our seventh album 
It had upsold Michael Jackson 
I took a trip to the year 3000 

Remember that song? If you were born in the 90’s or earlier, you probably have a pretty good memory of it. Do you remember the band? When I was young, this band was at the peak of the charts. Everyone was screaming for Busted. They were the new thing. They were by far my favourite band.

Nowadays, bands such as The Wanted and One Direction rule the charts, Busted are all grown up and most youngsters have never heard of them.

I’ll tell you what, I’ll throw you in another song that barely any kids have heard of too, remember it?

With new ideas being thought up every day by big names, it’s easy to forget some of the classic trends from when you were a kid.

I’ll tell you what shocked me most the other day, I was chatting with a eleven year old boy who’ve I’ve known for about six years and I happened to mention Andy Pandy. “Who?” he replied.

My jaw dropped.

Andy Pandy. He’s a classic. Surely everyone has heard of him, right?

My next shock was that he didn’t know who the Rugrats were. Remember them? Who couldn’t?

Tommy and Chuckie as "Maccababies" i...
Tommy and Chuckie as “Maccababies” in the episode “A Rugrats Chanukah“. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I guess I just have a funny way of asking do you think that big names such as Cheryl |Cole and television shows such as the Teletubies be forgotten in twenty years time? I guess only time shall tell.

What will never be forgotten? What were your favourite things from the past that are on now on the verge of being forgotten? Comment and let me know.

Please remember to Share this post of Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr ect. or pin on Pinterest or even Stumble on StumbleUpon. Thank you. 🙂

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Andy Pandy was banned because it was considered inappropriate he a lubylu climb in to the box together at the end

    • Really? 😆 I never knew that, thank you for letting me know! I can’t believe that, that’s a surprise. I know that when I was young and used to watch it, I never thought anything of them climbing in the box. I doubt young kids would nowadays.

      Nevertheless, how do people not remember him?

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

