12 Simple Steps to Creating A Grungy Vintage Paper Texture

Any designer would know that right now old is the new new. Old paper textures. Grungy text. Retro vintage posters. It’s all in.

Personally, I hate using stock. If I can, I’ll create everything from scratch. Paper was one of my biggest enemies. The paper I create looked flat. No grunge. No creases. Terrible. That’s why I’ve devised this tutorial to show you how to create a paper texture like this (click to see full size):

(C) Me @ Opinionated Duck

Ingredients:
– Photoshop (I use Photoshop Elements 6.0)
– Grunge brushes (I am using these fabulous brushes)
– Laptop/Computer Ect.
– The ability to experiment

SEE ALSO: How to Make A Halftone Effect Picture in Photoshop Elements 6.0

Method:

  1. First of all, open up an document (I use A4 size but you could use whatever size you fancy).
  2. Next, fill the background with your chosen colour. I am using #c4ac8a.
  3. Next up, grab your Burn tool and change the brush to one of your grunge brushes.
  4. Burn the edges of your canvas and any where else you wish to burn experimenting with different brushes, brush sizes and exposure.
  5. Create a new layer.
  6. Now, on your new layer, use your Rectangular Marquee tool and select one strip across the page (horizontal).
  7. Paint this strip with a darker colour, still using your grunge brush.
  8. Deselect the strip.
  9. Grab your eraser, make sure that your brush is one of the grunge ones, and softly erase parts of the strip (pay particular attention to each end of the strip and the top and bottom).
  10. Duplicate layer.
  11. Rotate the duplicated layer so that it becomes verticle.
  12. Merge your strip layers and lower their opacity to whatever you see fit. These become your creases.

Bravo, your new paper texture is complete!

SEE ALSO: 23 Killer Resources for Designers

Now you can add text or graphics on top to create retro vintage posters or, if you don’t fancy that, use your old paper texture in other ways. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to drop me a comment – I’ll do my best to answer them all to the best of my ability. Also, if you’d like to show me what you have created using this tutorial, I’d love to see them so drop me a comment with the link. I might even feature them!

If you’d this tutorial helped you out or you enjoyed this tutorial, please share or like so that more people can read it. Thank you.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Simple and easy to follow tips but it would have been nice if there were pictures to go with it. Nice tutorial nevertheless. Keep up the great work.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

