How do you think of character names?

Courtesy of Tumblr – in other words, I do not own this image.

I think that one of the best bits about being a writer is the fact that you can become anyone. Maybe you’d become someone entirely different to yourself, or maybe someone not so different. You can say and do what you want and create lives, personalities and a story for a person.

SEE ALSO: Do You Make These Mistakes When Writing?

A part of creating these character’s are naming them. I think that’s when they truly become their own person and you create a deeper connection with them.

However, how do you go about choosing these character names?

Don’t Miss: Writing Prompt #1

There are many unique ways of choosing character names. Some people opt for the use of a name generator, others base the name on the personality of the character and I’ve known some people who simply combine names of their friends or a random first name with a random noun. Some people have notebooks of names, some people are stuck for names entirely. It’s for those people I have created this article. Here are a list of names I haven’t used but liked:

MALE FEMALE
Jack Oak
Charlie Walsh
Erik Redford
Liam Elm
May Hall
Gracie McCormick
Pablo Barton
Gabriel Valentino
Sean Klien
Alyson Foley
Erica Worth
Zach Davidson
Dustin Thompson
Carter Crowe
Lydia Larsen
Jayda Davis
Spencer Simon
Cynthia Goodman
Elliot Blank
Harrison Venture

If you’d like to use any of these names, leave me a comment with which one you have used and I shall cross it off the list. I hope you find this useful. If you did or may do in the future, please consider bookmarking this article for a later date or even sharing and ‘Liking’ it so that others see it.
If there is a good response to this article, I will post more names in the future.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I know that some people have a hard time thinking of their character’s names. I’m not one of them. Character names just seem to drift into my head, no reason for it.
    But this is a good article, helpful. Please post more writing articles.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

