5 Things Successful People Do To Achieve Their Goals

For most of us, new year means new resolutions or goals. Each year we make goals we hope to stick to and for most of us we have done the same thing every year, it goes something like this:

Art, Character, Comic ect. (C) opinionatedduck.wordpress.com (ME)

Do you get off to a good start only to give up a month or two later? I know many a person who has. That’s why I’ve devised this post – 5 Things Successful People Do To Achieve Their Goals.

  1. Be Specific. When setting goals, it is best to be specific so that you can monitor your progress. For example, instead of a goal such as ‘Blog more’ you might decide to have a goal of ‘Blog at least once a week’. The specifics give you a clear idea of what you have to achieve and therefore make it easier to motivate you to do so. Another example of a poor goal is ‘Go to bed earlier’. You want a goal that will leave you no doubt on what you need to do and whether you’ve achieved it or not. Instead try a goal similar to ‘Go to bed no later than at 9pm on weeknights and 11pm on weekend nights’.
  2. Monitor Your Progress. Monitor your progress honestly and frequently to know how far you’ve come and how far you have left to go.
  3. Build Your Willpower. Psychologists believe that willpower is like a muscle and like any muscle, it needs exercising. The more it’s exercised, the stronger it becomes. Take, for example, our biceps. After lifting weights at a generally steady pace for half an hour, our biceps will most likely be tired and our last rep less effective than out first. However, there is a plus side. The next time you lift weights, it’ll be easier – you’ll be tired less quickly and you’ll also be stronger. The same principle applies when exercising our willpower.
  4. Will not Won’t. Research on thought suppression shows that by telling yourself not to do something, it re-enforces the bad habbit. For example, if I were wanted to stop biting my nails by saying to myself ‘I won’t bite my nails’ it strengthens the habbit making me more likely to bite my nails. Reverse psychology, in a form. Instead, I ought to say to myself ‘I will grow my nails’.
  5. Be Realistic. Finally, be realistic. If you want to lose weight, by all means be specific but choose a goal which you can achieve. Don’t say, ‘I will lose 10 stone in one week’ because it most probably won’t happen. Instead say ‘I will lose 1 stone in one month’ or something similar.

Your Turn to Talk…

Want to share your New Year Resolutions or your tactics to achieve them? I’d love to hear them so please drop me a comment.

Sharing is Caring

If you enjoyed this article or felt it was useful in any way, I’d appreciate it if you were to ‘share’ it on social media sites or even just ‘like’ it. Thank you!

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You know it’s amazing: this is written in a highly encouraged style for blog posts. *High five* I’m digging the infographic too.

  2. Really great tips that have inspired me to stick to my new years resolutions, also, adorable cartoon!

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

