The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Part One)

Unless you’ve been living in a hobbit hole in the midst of New Zealand for the past while, you’ll have known all about J.R.R. Tolkien’s novel, The Hobbit, being adapted for film last month (December 2012). Last week I had the pleasure of watching the film in 3D and here is my review:

Title: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Part One)
Age Guidline: 12A (PG-13)
Star Rating: 4 stars.

Storyline: The story is of a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins who is reluctantly swept into an action-packed quest to reclaim Erebor from a fearsome dragon and rightfully return it to the dwarves. Baggins is approached suddenly by the great wizard Gandalf the Grey and soon finds himself alongside a dozen or so dwarves, Gandalf and the legendary Thorin. During Part One, their journey takes them well in the wild where they trek through lands that swarm with beasts such as trolls and the tremendously ugly orcs. Along their journey, Bilbo also meets Gollum and gains possession of his ‘precious’ ring that proves unexpectedly useful.

My Thoughts: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Part One) was an excellent film with some truly spectacular acting from the cast and some really wonderful graphics and effects. Some of the dialogue was also truly inspiring.

I have high anticipation for Part Two and Three now. Have you seen The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Part One)? Do you want to? Leave me a comment and let me know.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I agree…mostly. It was wonderful to be back in Middle Earth. Peter Jackson hasn’t missed a beat. Sure, Ian McKellon is a tad older (it’s been almost 10 years), but the difference between very old and really old isn’t noticeable…especially on a wizard of his stature. And Martin Freeman is perfectly cast!

    But the movie did feel less epic than the first. It was more personalized and there was no overarching evil that had to be evaded or brought down. This, of course, is not Peter Jackson’s doing. It is how the story was written. Naturally, it will feel less than LOTR…diminished somehow.

    But most of this story was setup. Parts 2 and 3 will be much grander, especially given what Jackson is going to add in from the Silmarillion. Personally, I gave this movie a 3 out of 5 stars, fully expecting the next two to be 4’s or 5’s.

    Nice blog, Ms. Duck!

    • Unfortunately I can’t say that I’ve seen the other Lord of the Rings, would you recommend them?

      I’m really looking forwards to the next parts, I agree in thinking they’ll be slightly more epic. 🙂 3 out of five is certainly reasonable!

      Thank you, you’re ever so kind. 🙂 Thanks for the comment, also!

      • Seriously? You haven’t seen LOTR? I wouldn’t have expected that from a duck such as yourself.

        If you like fantasy, LOTR is the ultimate movie trilogy. Better than the Hobbit (so far). A must see! I gave them: 5 stars (LOTR 1), 4 stars (LOTR 2), and 5 stars (LOTR 3). The second movie is a little drawn out in a few parts, but definitely worth it. And it’s probably the best ending to a movie series I have ever seen.

        Okay, I’ll calm down. I mean, it’s not like I’m talking about Harry Potter here. 🙂

        • Ahah, the thing is, I’m not a particularly massive fan of fantasy. Nevertheless, I’m interested in seeing The LOTR trilogy – right after I’ve read them. I know, something else I am guilty of.

          I’ll certainly take your suggestion on board, though, and give them a watch. 🙂

          Now, I have to admit I’m a little bit in love with the Harry Potter series… 😉

          • To be honest, this is one of the few times I would recommend NOT reading the books. Tolkein’s writing style in LOTR is dense and doesn’t flow well. It’s a cumbersome read, all 1200 pages. You will put as much effort into the reading as the enjoying. It’s a task in itself.

            The movies did such a good job of bringing everything to life that you really get much more from the visuals than the words. If you don’t believe me, ask anyone who’s read it…the movies are better.

            The Hobbit was a quick easy read, but that’s because it was written early in his life and was meant to be a children’s novel. LOTR was meant to be his magnum opus and is definitely not a fun experience. This is my whole point about the movies being very different by design.

            As for Potter, I too am a huge fan…having read the books twice and seen films so often that I can practically name the movie and scene just by hearing the musical score in the background. I have them all on Blu-ray and they are practically worn out.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

