The Most Valuable Thing Of All

monday's musings_edited-1

I’m not sure what you value most in life, whether it be people or possessions, and it would surely be a terrible deed for me to judge you based on your option. I don’t know why you choose to value possessions over people or people over possessions and for that reason I can’t say I disagree with your choice or not, despite my own personal decision on what I value most.

I’m not sure what thing means the most to you or why. I’m not sure who the closest person to you is or the reason behind that.

But it doesn’t matter if I’m sure. It doesn’t matter that I don’t know your reasons. It doesn’t matter that I don’t know about you. It doesn’t even matter that I don’t know your name. I will respect your decisions, beliefs and causes until you give me dire reason not to.

And so, whether it be a possession, a person or even a belief, I want to speak of what you value most. But, if anything, speak honestly. I won’t judge you for I’d hate for you to judge me, particularly without knowing all the facts first.

So, here are my questions. Please let me know the answers in the comments so I can say that I’ve learnt at least something, although not everything, about the readers of this blog and, indeed, the users of the Internet.

I’m not asking for a long answer, a simply yes or no should do for some questions. Though, of course, write me a block of text should you wish to. Should you wish to remain anonymous whilst answering these questions, by all means do so. Also, you may pick and choose which questions you answer but I’d really appreciate it if you could answer at least one and, if not, share the post so others can do so. Thank you.

Do you value people over possessions?

What is your most prized possession?

What is the status (son, friend, wife, father, teacher ect.) of the person that means the most to you?

What would you do if you were to lose the thing or person that you valued above everything? Could you cope?

Now, listen up. This one’s important. If I were to ask you if you were rich, what would your answer be?

What do you think the point to this post was?

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Do you value people over possessions?

    Every time.

    What is your most prized possession?

    Integrity.

    What is the status (son, friend, wife, father, teacher ect.) of the person that means the most to you?

    In life, I don’t think that you can ever really identify one particular person that means the most. Life is a journey and people will drift in and out at different times. it depends on the perception and context of your life at that point. There are many people in this world that mean so much to me – some are in my current scope others outside. The most important point is that you carry them in your heart always

    What would you do if you were to lose the thing or person that you valued above everything? Could you cope?

    Cope? Yes. Human beings have an in built mechanism that allows them to cope with most situations. We can all cope in one way or another – it really relies upon your mental attitude. On an emotional level you may break but at a logical level you learn to cope.

    Now, listen up. This one’s important. If I were to ask you if you were rich, what would your answer be?

    Yes. Life is about experience and enjoying the abundance of creativity. Love is the only currency worth owning and I have plenty to go around. Unconditional. Universal.

    What do you think the point to this post was?

    Hopefully to get the reader to stop for a moment and review their existence. To stop taking the world (and people) around them for granted and to reaffirm the positive aspect/s of their life. As I always say “Perception is reality”. Your perceived view of the world, and the people in it, is only dictated by your ability to perceive your actual reality. Sometimes if you take a moment to reflect you may find that your perception is actually a lot farther from reality than you actually expected.

    Great post and an excellent blog. You should be very proud of yourself.

    • Thank you very much for the feedback! I’ll be using (and quoting) my research in an upcoming post which will most likely be posted the Monday coming.

      Thank you for your input and kind words. It means a lot. 🙂

  2. Hey, I didn’t want to scroll up and down so I just copy and pasted the questions.. hope it doesn’t make me seem too lazy! Also, you may not have wanted so much depth but your questions intrigue me.

    Do you value people over possessions?
    Yes. I move every six months so having to constantly throw away things that I want but don’t absolutely need has really lightened my view on material possessions. I may still sometimes want to wear that colourful skirt I gave away in Costa Rica three years ago, but the fact I’m still in contact and friends with the girl I gave it to is way more important.

    What is your most prized possession?
    My laptop, phone and harddrives. They contain all of my photos, stories, emails and contact details of everyone I’ve met during my journeys.

    What is the status (son, friend, wife, father, teacher ect.) of the person that means the most to you?
    Obviously my family will always be a priority by default, however I do have two male best friends who I would go to any length for. Interestingly they are both ex-boyfriends broken up purely through distance, which I guess is what has kept us so close.

    What would you do if you were to lose the thing or person that you valued above everything? Could you cope?
    To lose him would be devastating.. No more skype coffee dates, long-distance games of noughts and crosses or long philosophical chats.. It would feel like part of my heart was missing. But fortunately the rest of my heart is dedicated to my goals and dreams, and I’m sure the pursuit of those dreams would be my only coping mechanism.

    Now, listen up. This one’s important. If I were to ask you if you were rich, what would your answer be?
    Yes, I am. I’ve always been able to have anything I’ve wanted (I include situations where I’ve worked hard and saved up for something in that category) and I’ve always been surrounded by incredible opportunities, amazing, passionate, successful and interesting friends, and by being on the dark side of many situations I’ve gained the wisdom to appreciate every situation. I couldn’t be more lucky.

    What do you think the point to this post was?
    I’m not sure why you asked, but I can tell you why I answered.
    Perception is reality. By observing, detailing and analysing our own priorities in life, it enables us to develop a more objective opinion on ourselves and lifestyle. By writing it down it also makes it real – if there was something I didn’t like about myself in this post, by publishing it on a public forum I would be forced to confront and change it.

    Woah, sorry about the essay! You asked 😛
    Great blog!

    • Ahah, not lazy at all. An answer is an answer and I’m very appreciative of the fact that you have taken time from your day to comment. 🙂

      Thank you for your answers, they are intriguing. I hope to post an article based on my findings the coming Monday or, if not, the Monday after. Some of your answers I really like (particularly the last), thank you.

      Ahaha, it’s not a problem but a privellage. Thank you. 🙂

  3. Hey, OpD…
    I’ve always valued people over possessions, because they are there for me, through good and bad. So, yeah, possessions can be important… but not really, not to me. My most prized possession is my camera, even though it isn’t a very good one. I’ve had it for, gotta be getting on for 5 years now… I’m getting a new, more technical one soon but my current camera will always bethe one that got me into photography. My most valuable people are my best friend, my mum and my little sister. I will love them forever.

    When you say rich, I say yes. Money? No. But life, people, love… definitely.

    • Hey Charli,
      I agree. I have also always valued people over possessions.

      Ooh, a camera is a good prized possession. You know, to capture the moments and memories in life.

      Interesting you said that, about being rich. If you look out for one of the follow Monday’s Musings (probably next weeks) I’ll explain why. 🙂

      Thank you for commenting. 🙂 It means a lot. I hope you have a lovely week.

  4. Pretty deep stuff, OpD. Thought about this for too long.

    People have always been more important to me than possessions, but the most important thing in the world to me is knowing that I’m doing what I think is the right thing.

    My most important person is well, and if I were to lose her it would be a tough one. Could I cope? I don’t know.

    Do I consider myself rich? Kinda.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

