In Memory and Make Memories (Live, Don’t Merely Exist)

(I apologise for the lack of posts lately, and for the breaking of my schedule. I haven’t an excuse, sorry!)

Life is precious.

This time last year I lost an acquaintance or, I’d even go as far to say, a friend. Let’s call him…Will*. This post is not only in memory** of him but I also want to talk to you about how important it is to make the most of your life as you never know when your time is up.

Will and I weren’t close, granted, but losing someone you know is always hard and I can only imagine how hard it has been for his closest friends and family.

I’m sure I haven’t been the only one of Will’s acquaintances, friends or family who have been thinking of him lately. I’m sure I’m not the only one who remembered the smile that was permanently plastered on his face or his laugh that made every one else laugh just at the sound of it. I’m sure I’m not the only one who remembers with what joy Will celebrated his life and how he really made a go at it – it’s just unfortunate how he could have passed on so early in his life.

In short, make the most of your life.***

Live, don’t merely exist. Grab life by the head and go with it.

Do what you enjoy. Smile. Laugh.

Don’t let anyone tell you you’re not good enough because they are not worth it.

Take chances. You never know what will happen in your life, what unexpected twists your story might have, but I’ll tell you this, it’s better to say ‘I don’t know why I did that’ to say ‘I wish I had done that’. If you don’t enjoy your job (or anything else, for that matter), leave it and find something that you do enjoy. Just do it. Life is too short not to do what makes you happy.

Never stop playing (or learning).

Face your fears and take every opportunity head on.

Appreciate the small things in life.

Make the most of what you have and the life you live because Will cannot do that anymore, and neither can a lot of other men, woman, boys or girls. You are lucky. Appreciate that fact. Do it for Will and all of the other people who’ve lost their lives.

If you would like to share any words about any one you’ve ever lost, if you’d like to talk about making the most out of your life or would like to share anything else, please leave me a comment. I may expand on this post in the future so you’re comments will be helpful, thanks.

*Name changed for the safety and respect of ‘Will’ and his family.

**RIP, you’ll always live on in our hearts. My thoughts are with you and your family.

*** Many of my readers may know that I am currently working on a novel. The theme is exactly this, funnily enough: make the most out of your life. For those interested, it involves a three teenagers and a death that makes two of them see the world in a new light.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Very thoughtful post. Mirrors my sentiments exactly.
    Sometimes in life we lose loved ones and it is hard to carry on. We hold them in our hearts and our thoughts everyday. I know that I do – without fail.

    I have lived my own life following this mantra – “The difference between stumbling blocks and stepping stones is how you use them”.

    One last quote:
    “Memory is the treasury and guardian of all things.”
    Marcus Tullius Cicero

    Keep up the excellent work

  2. I’m so sorry that you lost your friend, even if he wasn’t a close one. Death touches us all, sooner or later, before we walk into it ourselves. My dad died three years ago and I still think about him all the time. My mom is well headed into dementia and I have just had to move her into a lock down facility – a beautiful place but still locked down – because she started to run away. I see her and know that death is standing over her shoulder, even though the course of dementia is a long and slow one. Thank you for remembering your friend, Will, today. When you do this it not only touches you and his family but everyone who reads your blog.

  3. Whoops the word HEAR is wrong sorry.

  4. Sorry to here of your loss. I Agree with living not just existing. I lost family members from cancer and suicide. One fought the fight, one did not want to stay, due depression. My lesson. Live the life you were born to live. Everybody has a gift to share with the world. Before my father passed he handed me back a writing book I had given him. “This book was meant for you.” I write I live life to the fullest and appreciate a new sunrise ever day.

    • I’m sorry to hear of your losses. I haven’t lost many people in my life to death – maybe because I’m so young, or maybe I’m just lucky.

      Thank you for your words, I also believe that everybody has a gift to share in the world – a purpose.

      Thank you for your comment.

  5. Memories. We carry them, but there are more out there… waiting to be made.

    • So true.

      Thank you for your comment, and of course all the support you have provided me on my blogging journey so far. Although it’s off topic, I forgot to thank to thank you for that. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

