10 Quotes That Changed My Life

I like to imagine that I’m quite good with words. After all, my biggest ambition is to become a successful writer. However, I have recently found that, when it comes to public speaking, I fail. Miserably at that.

It turns out that I can generally carry out the first section of a speech or “public conversation” with some ease. Usually because I recite it often enough for it to embed itself within the walls of my brain.

Something I have found helps when I have no words is to use the words of others to portray how I feel, when my own words fail me. Quotes.

It’s interesting how I could quote people so different yet their words all have the ability to portray my own thoughts and feelings.

Mark Twain. Albert Einstein. J.K Rowling. Dr. Seuss. Marilyn Monroe. Steve Jobs. Oscar Wilde. John Green. Stephen Chbosky. From J.M Barrie to the late and great Maya Angelou, I have confidence that each writer, artist, man and woman that I quote had thoughts on a similar wavelength to my own.

10 Of My Favourite Quotes

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. (Mark Twain)

We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars. (Oscar Wilde)

It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all – in which case, you fail by default. (J.K Rowling)

There’s nothing like deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons. (Stephen Chbosky)

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing. (Harper Lee)

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. (Albert Einstein)

A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song. (Maya Angelou)

Everything you can imagine is real. (Pablo Picasso)

The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it. (J.M Barrie)

Minds are like parachutes – they only function when open. (Thomas Dewar)

I believe that quotes have not only the ability to speak for us but also to provide us with inspiration and motivation when it is most needed. What are your favourite quotes? Let me know in the comments below.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

