Why You Shouldn’t Be A Music Snob

Music is a universal language. We listen, we perform and we relate.

We find comfort in lyrics and the fact that there always seems to be something hidden within them that relates perfectly to our lives. We feel the energy in a beat and allow it the power to alter our moods.

We adore music. Some of us are not any good at playing and performing it (like myself), granted, but we enjoy just listening. Others are blessed with the talent to create; to play an instrument; to sing.

But what happens when people begin to ruin the enjoyment of music. What happens when people judge your in music? What happens when people belittle you for liking a certain style?

When it comes to music, I like what I like.

I love rock. I love punk. I love music that no one I know has heard of. I think that You Me At Six are amazing, that Nirvana are legendary and that blink-182 are just so damn cool.

On the other hand, I love country and folk music.  I think that Taylor Swift is a superb songwriter, and I genuinely enjoy the sound of her voice, too. I love the sound of Garth Brooks music. Tim McGraw is one of my favourites. I love melodic, indie music and I love the blues. I think that Jake Bugg, Ed Sheeran and Young the Giant are great artists – three artists of whom I love to listen to.

So, yes, my music taste is pretty diverse. That being said, there is music that I don’t particularly like. One Direction, Pitbull and Miley Cyrus among them.

Whilst I don’t particularly enjoy the music of these artists, I don’t understand people who claim they are talent-less. I don’t listen to their music because I don’t find utmost enjoyment in it, not because they are not any good. Just because something is not of one’s taste, does not deem them “rubbish”. Those who suggest that their music taste is better than anyone else’s need to take a step back and a look at their morals.

Disliking something is inevitable and it is to be respected that people have different tastes, it’s just the nature of things. There’s nothing wrong with disliking something, particularly not music. The problem, however, begins when this dislike turns into putting others down because of these dislikes and likes.

We all have things we like and things we dislike, just as we all have our “guilty” pleasures. Because, perhaps you are a teenager who adores classical music, and that’s okay. There’s nothing wrong with that. Perhaps you’re a grown man who digs a little One Direction – who has the right to say that that is “wrong”?

No matter what your personal preferences are, there will always be people who oppose you. Your opinion is valid and there is nothing wrong with you liking what you like, and disliking what you don’t like, but your opinion is not the only valid one. It is important to enjoy your taste in music and let others enjoy theirs, or else you cannot expect to be respected and left to enjoy the music you enjoy by other people.

Music is a very personal thing and it should not be allowed for one to belittle someone because of something they enjoy, or don’t. Music is their to enjoy and entertain, not to cause division and controversy. Do not insist that your choice of music is better. 

It is important to respect others and even keep an open mind – that way, you might discover something new, and everyone’s happy.

What type of music do you listen to? Let me know in a comment (and please consider ‘liking’, rating or sharing this post, thank you).

13 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I think the best kind of person to be is a music collector: the person who spends actual time discovering music, discovering and supporting unheard of artists, and more importantly, collecting music that other people listen to. I feel music collectors are the opposite of music snobs because not only do they go outside to expand their playlist, but a lot of times they end up discovering music through other people.

    I agree with everyone’s music tastes here except for in relation to rap; Rap as a genre doesn’t get much love, but people need to understand that the people you hear on the radio don’t represent the genre as a whole (not even a little bit). The thing about rap music is that a lot spotlight rappers today embody the things that keep people uninterested in their music, and if you really want to see the best of the genre, you have to go out and find it yourself. Besides the occasional hit, radio songs are just pandering; they try to capture the sound that attracts the biggest audience. And in rap songs, the thing that attracts people the most is the thing that they’ve come to expect.
    It sort of bothers me when people denounce rap, because as I’ve taken the time to fully explore the genre, I’ve gotten to see past the dark side of it, and there are some really good up-and-coming artists that I can see changing the genre for the better, and I can give a lot of examples.

  2. I have this conversation all the time.

    Justin Beiber walks onto a stage. A sea full of happy faces greet him. What’s wrong with that? Happiness is where you find it.

    • Exactly! Justin Bieber isn’t my cup of tea but then that’s my opinion and I don’t have to listen to him. Other people enjoy Justin Bieber’s music, that’s fine also. They aren’t forcing me to listen to him, so why should I force my opinions onto them?

  3. Music I like: yes…
    Not specific enough? Okay, I like songs from every genre, though I like the fewest from rap and country. My favorites are probably classic rock, what we used to call alternative before that became pop somehow, blues, and trance.
    As a dj, my favorites were trance, happy hardcore, breakbeat, and garage.
    As a listener, classic rock, heavy metal, blues, jazz, alternative, grunge, and on and on. My iPod has everything from the newest Eminem song to the soundtrack for the musical Miss Saigon, Paul Oakenfold to Robert Johnson, Pete Seeger to The Crystal Method…

  4. deepbluesandseafoamgreens August 7, 2014 — 4:47 pm

    I must say, my taste is varied in that I like a lot from different genres. But mostly, I go for bands like Coldplay, Keane and i like certain songs from Florence and the Machine etc.
    But then I like a lot of others – dipping into pop (ed sheeran) and rock (paramore). Varied is good! It’s nice not restricting myself – plus, a lot of bands have songs which fall under different categories too (like paramore released some pop-punk for example).

  5. Hmmm…I listen to pretty much anything besides reggae and rap. I enjoy hard rock best, mixed with classic rock. I do like some country. I guess it depends on my mood at the time I decide to pick an articst to listen to. My favorite artist is Ozzy Osbourne.

    • I definitely agree with your point about mood. The music I listen to completely changes depending on my mood.

      Ah, I can definitely appreciate Ozzy Osbourne’s music (although he’s never been my favourite). But I do like rock, nevertheless.

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply

