The Butterfly Song

As a young child, I remember learning ‘The Butterfly Song’ and the lyrics being stuck in my head for days on end. Every Monday morning we had assembly and we’d sing a hymn. Often, ‘The Butterfly Song’ was that hymn. This went on for three years. Three years of repeating the lyrics over and over.

Then I started a new school, and then another. ‘The Butterfly Song’ had seemingly left my memory. As far as I was concerned, it no longer existed. Then, bam, one day I walk into hymn practice (on a Tuesday now I was at my new school) and the lyrics are plastered on the over-head projector. Another week of the wretched song stuck in my head.

A good four years and another new school later,  I’m wondering why it is that one this late Monday evening [this post is scheduled, because I’m clever like that. ;))], whilst I listen to You Me At Six’s brand new, absolutely amazing song, the song suddenly pops into my mind?

In case you’re not familiar with ‘The Butterfly Song’, let me get you acquainted with the first verse:

The Butterfly Song (If I Were a Butterfly)
Words and Music by Brian M. Howard
If I were a butterfly
I’d thank you Lord for giving me wings
If I were a robin in a tree
I’d thank you Lord that I could sing
If I were a fish in the sea
I’d wiggle my tail and I’d giggle with glee
But I just thank you Father for making me, me.
Continue reading the lyrics here ->

So, on this evening, I got thinking about the lyrics of this song from my early childhood and I thought about what I’d really do if I were a butterfly.

If I were a butterfly, I’d make use of my beauty and my wings. I’d fly as much as possible, and pester the heck out of humans – flaunting my colours.

If I were a robin in a tree, I’d watch from my branch at Christmas time as the children open presents on Christmas morning, as decorations are hung, as other festivities are partaken. I’d sing as loud as possible – because if anyone reading this knows me IRL, I can’t sing a note in reality.

If I were a fish in the sea, I’d just keep swimming. Because Dory is everything. 

Let me know in a comment what you’d do if you were a butterfly, a robin in a tree or a fish in the sea. I’m eager to find out. :))

Share Your Thoughts, Leave a Reply